Friday, June 12, 2015

Fort Payne Alabama Named Main Street Alabama City

Main Street Alabama announced that Fort Payne has been chosen as a newly designated Main Street Community. Main Street, a subsidiary of National Trust for Historic Preservation, is a program that focuses on developing Alabama’s downtown districts. They have been energizing downtowns for more than 30 years.

“Each selected community understands the importance of their downtown to their city as economic development tool and to develop a better quality of life for its citizens”, said Mary Helmer, State Coordinator of Main Street Alabama.[1]

"This new program provides us with the opportunity to document, further develop and be recognized for our sustainable initiatives, which will help differentiate us in the tough competition for new corporate investment and job creation," said Jimmy Durham, executive director of DCEDA.

Fort Payne kicked off the program at the DeKalb Theatre Tuesday June 23. Lynn Brewer stated to an enthusiastic crowd, “We worked hard for this because we love Fort Payne. We want our downtown beauty to match the natural beauty around us.”

[1] Joseph Morgan, The Southern Torch.

Monday, May 25, 2015

RAINSVILLE — Rainsville recently was designated as an Alabama Community of Excellence.
The city of Rainsville joined Alexander City, Elba, Fairhope and Saraland as the newest ACE members. Rainsville Mayor Nick Jones said the ACE certification was something the city has been working on for some time.
“We’ve been in the program for a while,” Jones said. “So this is more of a graduation. This is a really good program for smaller towns that puts city leaders with experts in [city planning] fields.”
The ACE program is designed for cities with populations between 2,000 and 18,000. ACE was formed in 2002 and is a nonprofit organization that utilizes the expertise of its partner organizations — which include the Alabama Association of RC&D Councils; Alabama Association of Regional Councils; Alabama Department of Commerce; the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs; the Alabama Historical Commission; the Alabama League of Municipalities; the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority; Alabama Power Co.; the Auburn University Economic and Community Development Institute; Goodwyn, Mills & Cawood; PowerSouth Energy Cooperative; Regions; the Southeast Alabama Gas District; the University of Alabama Center for Economic Development; and the University of West Alabama.

Jones said having access to such a wide range of experts will help the city better plan for the future. Before becoming an ACE member, Rainsville worked with ACE to identify areas in the city that needed improvement and develop ideas for making those improvements. Read more...
(From left) Rainsville Councilman David Holt, ACE President Lisa Miller, Rainsville Mayor Nick Jones, Akaysha Yukawa and Councilmember Melissa Ledbetter 

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Mike Simpson elected to the Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives

Mike Simpson, director of DCEDA and General Manager of Sand Mountain Electric Cooperative, was elected to the Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives’ Board of Directors.  He will serve on the association’s training and development and legislative committees. According to the Times-Journal, “the Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives is a federation of non-profit electric cooperatives, which provide electricity to more than 1 million Alabamians in DeKalb and 63 other counties.”  May 29, 2012