Thursday, May 26, 2016

NACC Engineering Tech Students Score Well Above National Average

Northeast Alabama Community College (NACC) Engineering Technician students recently scored an average of 12.4 points above the national average on the National Occupational Competency Testing Institute (NOCTI) Engineering Technician examination.

Friday, February 19, 2016

DeKalb County Alabama GIG Country

When the President of the United States spoke recently about the need for greater broadband speeds in our country, he showed a chart listing cities where gigabit Internet access is available: Hong Kong, Paris, Chattanooga and Kansas City were among them.

Now you can add Geraldine to that list.

Monday, February 1, 2016

FORT PAYNE Takes Green to a New Level

FORT PAYNE has been designated as a Valley Sustainable Silver Community in Tennessee Valley Authority’s (TVA) economic development program. 

Fort Payne recently completed the program sponsored by TVA and developed and administered by consultant Boyette Strategic Advisors (BSA.) “This takes Fort Payne’s economic development marketing efforts to prospective and existing sustainably-focused companies to a whole new level,” said Jimmy Durham, Executive Director of DeKalb County Economic Development Authority.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Rainsville Technology, Inc (RTI) Plant Expansion

Rainsville Technology Incorporated officially broke ground for a plant expansion of over 65,000 sq ft costing $3.5 million dollars.

 This expansion will improve efficiency by relocating and consolidating process and part storage. RTI was represented by Akio Morimoto – RTI President and Shin Sakairi – RTI Executive Vice President. Also attending to show their support and appreciation of Rainsville Technology, Inc. were Alabama State Senator Steve Livingston, Alabama Representative Nathaniel Ledbetter, Rainsville Mayor Nick Jones, Rainsville Mayor Pro-Tem Roger Lingerfelt, Rainsville City Council member Joey Graham, Rainsville Industrial Board Chair D. L. Stiefel, Rainsville Industrial Board member Ralph Hall, DeKalb County Economic Development Authority Executive Director Jimmy Durham, DeKalb County EDA Board Chair Dr. John Anderson, DeKalb County EDA Board member/Sand Mountain Electric Co-op Manager Mike Simpson.

Community Livability Inventory